#0: I’m Probably Going to Regret This

Welcome to (500) Days of Homer. This blog is one guy (me)’s effort to watch every single episode of The Simpsons. That’s right—all 500 episodes and counting.

The idea was born while I was reading countless articles about the huge 500-episode milestone that The Simpsons is hitting. As I read, I realized that I’d only seen maybe a handful of those episodes. Being a person that lives for pop culture, this was a criminal oversight that I needed to fix.

So, in a typical over-reaction, I declared that I’d watch the entire series, from the beginning, one episode a day. I’d then write about each episode, every single day, until I was caught up with the show. Conveniently, the quest will take about 500 days, give or take however many new episodes air between now and July 2013. This is by far the stupidest thing I’ve gotten myself into, but I plan on going through with it. I may soon hate myself for giving myself at least 500 writing assignments, but hopefully I’ll truly understand one of the most important pieces of American culture by the end.

I’ll watch the 500th episode live on February 19, 2012, and from then on, I’ll watch one episode a day for the next 16 months. I’m sure there will be days I’ll miss, and I’ll make up for them accordingly, but I plan for this to be as close to daily as possible. I hope you enjoy reading about my journey through The Simpsons, and thanks for visiting the site!

~

Hunter Phillips is a sophomore at Brigham Young University in Provo, Utah. He loves watching TV shows that aren’t procedurals, playing video games that aren’t first-person shooters, and Welsh Corgis. Follow him on Twitter at @hunterbp and subscribe/add him on Facebook.

Leave a Reply

